Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

All nurseries in England are required to follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), this sets the standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. I am sure that you will agree that all children are unique and keeping this in mind we use the EYFS framework to take every child’s qualities into account when planning their day.

There are seven areas within the learning and development section of the EYFS, these shape the educational programmes in our nurseries. Whilst all areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected, the framework splits the areas of learning into ‘Prime’ and ‘Specific’ areas.

The Three Prime Areas

The three prime areas reflect the key skills and capacities that all children need to develop and learn effectively, and become ready for school. These three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, are:

  • Communication and Language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

For our youngest children we focus strongly on the three prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas. As children grow in confidence and ability within these areas the balance will shift towards a more equal focus on all prime and specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the World; and
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

We are also required to support children in these four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

Each area of learning and development must be implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mixture of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults.

It is our duty to recognise each child’s emerging needs and interests, guiding their development through positive interaction. As children grow older, and as their development allows, it is expected that the balance will gradually shift towards more activities led by adults, to help children prepare for more formal learning, ready for Year 1 at school.

If you would like to know more information about the EYFS, please follow this link to visit the Havering early Years Website.